As a foundation trust, we are governed by an elected council of governors and are independently regulated by NHS Improvement. We have around 11,000 members who we regularly consult with on Trust strategy and service planning. 

Patient governor Edward Waite at the 2015 annual governors and members meeting
Patient governor Edward Waite at the 2015 annual governors and members meeting

Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust has been an independent legal entity with a unique governance structure since 1 June 2009. The powers of the Trust are set out in the National Health Service Act 2006, as amended by the Health and Social Care Act 2012. The Trust governance arrangements are enshrined in the Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust Constitution and include the Trust membership, the council of governors and the board of directors.

The Trust board plays a key role in shaping the strategy, vision and purpose of the organisation. Board members are responsible for assuring that risks to the Trust and the public are managed and mitigated effectively. Led by an independent chair, and composed of a mixture of both executive and independent non-executive members, the board has a collective responsibility for the performance of the organisation. The council of governors, which comprises both elected and appointed parties, challenges the board and holds the non-executive directors to account for the board’s performance. The elected parties are drawn from the membership and the appointed parties represent key stakeholders. Members are drawn from three constituencies: patient, public and staff. Independent regulation of the Trust is undertaken by NHS Improvement.

The council of governors appoints the external auditor. A sub-committee, the nominations and remuneration committee, considers the appointment of the chair and the other non-executive members of the Trust’s board of directors.

Management of the foundation trust is delegated to the Trust’s board of directors. There are three formal committees of the Trust board: the audit committee, the risk and safety committee, and the nominations and remuneration committee.

Quality Account 

The Trust is required by law to produce a Quality Account, which is an annual report to the public about the quality of services delivered. The Quality Account 2016/17 is available on the Trust’s website at and on the NHS Choices website.

Read the Trust's full annual report and accounts for 2016/17 and more about our policy and performance

Our Board

Executive directors – full year

Professor Robert J Bell  Chief executive 

Dr Richard Grocott-Mason Medical director/senior responsible officer    

Mr Robert Craig Chief operating officer

Mr Richard Paterson Associate chief executive – finance

Ms Joy Godden Director of nursing and clinical governance 

Mr Nicholas Hunt Director of service development 

Non-executive directors – part year

Baroness (Sally) Morgan of Huyton Chair

Non-executive directors 

Mr Neil Lerner Deputy chairman; and acting chairman 1st April 2016 – 31st December 2016 

Mrs Lesley-Anne Alexander CBE 

Professor Kim Fox

Ms Kate Owen

Dr Andrew Vallance-Owen MBE (senior independent director)

Mr Richard Jones 

Mr Philip Dodd

Our council of governors

Public governors – full year

Mr George Doughty North West London 

Mr Anthony Archer Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire 

Mr Robert Parker South of England 

Ms Jennifer Sano Rest of England and Wales

Patient and carer governors – full year

Mrs Chhaya Rajpal North West London

Mr Tim Mack North West London

Mrs Brenda Davies Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire

Mr Edward Waite South of England

Mr Stuart Baldock Elsewhere

Dr Ejikeme Uzoalor Elsewhere

Ms Caroline Karlsen Representing patients and carers

Patient and carer governors – part year

Mr Peter Kircher Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire

Staff governors – full year

Dr Charlie Butcher

Dr Claire Hogg 

Ms Anne McDermott

Mrs Elizabeth Henderson

Staff governors – part year

Dr Andrew Morley-Smith 

Dr Laura Price

Appointed governors – full year 

Mrs Victoria Borwick London Borough of Kensington and Chelsea  

Professor Mary Morrell Imperial College London

Appointed governors – part year 

Mr Ray Puddifoot London Borough of Hillingdon 

< Back to contents