The Trust is governed by an elected council of governors and independently regulated by NHS Improvement (formerly Monitor). We have around 11,000 members who we regularly consult on Trust strategy and service planning. 

Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust has been an independent legal entity with a unique governance structure since 1 June 2009. The powers of the Trust are set out in the National Health Service Act 2006, as amended by the Health and Social Care Act 2012. The Trust governance arrangements are enshrined in the Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust Constitution and include the Trust membership, the council of governors and the board of directors.

The Trust board plays a key role in shaping the strategy, vision and purpose of the organisation. Board members are responsible for assuring that risks to the Trust and the public are managed and mitigated effectively. Led by an independent chair, and composed of a mixture of both executive and independent non-executive members, the board has a collective responsibility for the performance of the organisation. The council of governors, which comprises both elected and appointed parties, challenges the board and holds the non-executive directors to account for the board’s performance. The elected parties are drawn from the membership and the appointed parties represent key stakeholders. Members are drawn from three constituencies: patient, public and staff. Independent regulation of the Trust is undertaken by Monitor.

The council of governors appoints the external auditor. A sub-committee, the nominations and remuneration committee, considers the appointment of the chairman and the other non-executive members of the Trust’s board of directors.

Management of the foundation trust is delegated to the Trust’s board of directors. There are three formal committees of the Trust board: the audit committee, the risk and safety committee and the nominations and remuneration committee. 

Quality Account 

The Trust is required by law to produce a Quality Account, which is an annual report to the public about the quality of services delivered. The Quality Account 2015/16 is available on the Trust’s website and on the NHS Choices website.

Visit our website to read the Trust’s full annual report and accounts for 2015/16 and for more information about our policy and performance.

Our board

Executive directors – full year

Professor Robert J Bell - Chief executive 

Dr Richard Grocott-Mason - Interim medical director/senior responsible officer

Mr Robert Craig - Chief operating officer

Mr Richard Paterson - Associate chief executive – finance

Ms Joy Godden - Director of nursing and clinical governance 

Mr Nicholas Hunt - Director of service development 

Executive directors – part year

Professor Timothy Evans - Medical director and deputy chief executive

Non-executive directors – part year

Mr Luc Bardin

Mr Richard Hunting CBE

Non-executive directors 

Sir Robert Finch - Chairman

Mr Neil Lerner - Deputy chairman 

Mrs Lesley-Anne Alexander CBE 

Professor Kim Fox

Ms Kate Owen

Dr Andrew Vallance-Owen MBE - (senior independent director)

Mr Richard Jones 

Mr Philip Dodd

Our council of governors

Public governors – full year

Mr George Doughty - North West London

Public governors – part year

Mr Brian Waylett - Rest of England and Wales

Mr Robert Parker - South of England 

Ms Jennifer Sano - Rest of England and Wales

Mr Anthony Connerty - South of England

Mr Kenneth Appel - Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire 

Patient and carer governors – full year

Mrs Chhaya Rajpal - North West London

Mrs Brenda Davies - Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire

Mr Peter Kircher - Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire

Mr Edward Waite - South of England

Mr Stuart Baldock - Elsewhere

Dr Ejikeme Uzoalor - Elsewhere

Patient and carer governors – part year

Mr Tim Mack - North West London

Ms Caroline Karlsen - Representing patient carers

Mr Guthrie McKie - North West London

Dr Adrian Lepper - Representing patient carers

Staff governors – full year

Dr Claire Hogg 

Ms Anne McDermott

Dr Andrew Morley-Smith 

Staff governors – part year

Mrs Elizabeth Henderson

Dr Ian Balfour-Lynn 

Dr Alistair Lindsay

Appointed governors 

Councillor Mrs Victoria Borwick - London Borough of Kensington and Chelsea  

Mr Ray Puddifoot - London Borough of Hillingdon 

Professor Mary Morrell - Imperial College London

< Our profile in the media

Back to contents